World changes day by day!

Monday, May 28, 2012

Centuries of the IPL - 5

1 comment

The centuries scored in the fifth season of IPL, 2012.

Ajinkya Rahane 103* (60)

The Rajasthan young opener, Ajinkya Rahane was the first batsmen to hit century in IPL 5. Playing against RCB, Rahane scored a great century which he missed in the first game by just a margin of 2 runs.  He start his innings steady and slowly, then paced it in the middle. With the partnership with captain Rahul Dravid and Owais Shah, Rahane was in full mood get his century in the last over. He score his hundred with 12 boundaries and 5 sixes. He help Rajasthan Royals to set a target of 196, which they won easily by 59 runs. This young man showed his potential for selection in national team. He scored 520 runs this year, was key batsman for Royals.

Kevin Pietersen 103* (64)

Chasing a modest total Kevin Pietersen single-handily took the game away from Poor Deccan Chargers.  After setting 157 to chase for Delhi, Charger took 3 early wickets and were in control to defend the total but Pietersen has something else in mind, he scored unbeaten century took Delhi to victory at Kotla. He remain until Delhi won the match by 5 wickets. He put unbeaten 103 of 64 balls with 6 fours and 9 sixes. He was in great knock this season but only able to play 8 matches, left after this to play for his country. 

David Warner 109* (54)

After Pietersen left, Delhi replace his place with David Warner, who made a magnificent century to let Delhi on top. It was same poor Deccan Chargers, against whom Delhi batsman hit the century, the replacement work great for Delhi. Warner charges struggling Charger's bowlers allover, hit 10 fours and 7 sixes in his 109 not out of 54 balls at the Hyderabad. Delhi defeat Charger by 9 wickets chasing 188, just losing one wicket. Warner was well supported by Naman Ojha with his 64 not out. This win put Delhi on the top of table. Warner hit century playing in his 2nd match this season. 

Rohit Sharma  109* (60) 

Mumbai players were said to be not in perfect mood, Rohit Sharma also alleged to give away his wicket cheaply. But in the match he came like fire, he score his maiden IPL century against the KKR. With the help of Herschelle Gibbs, Rohit made a  partnership of  167 runs. With the fire power from the Rohit and Gibbs support Mumbai were able to put a good total of 181/1. The total was good enough to defend and KKR lost the game by 27 runs. Rohit unbeaten knock of 109 from 60 balls included 12 boundaries and 5 sixes. 

Chris Gayle 128* (62)

It's  fully clear that RCB is wholly dependent on Chris Gayle, he play not only key role but win for RCB. In the situation where it was must need win for RCB to keep alive in the hunt for play-offs, Gayle hit his first century this season (though he not get another like previous). His massive power hitting help RCB put a total that would be hard to chase for Delhi. RCB put 215 for 1, with Kholi play supporting role with his knock of 73 not out. Delhi played well but only manged at last to loss the game by 21 runs. This was one of amazing innings from Gayle as usual, he hit 13 sixes which was mind-blowing. He also hit 7 four in his inning of 128 not out of 62 balls. 

Murali Vijay 113 (58) 

Thunder came over the Delhi bowlers as Murali Vijay hammers them allover the grounds with his incredible inning. Vijay who was out of form scored a blunder in the important game. He failed in almost all the group matches but proves his position, with a wonderful century. With his great knock CSK able to put a huge total of 222/5 to Delhi, who never able to go near it, lost the match by 86 runs. The century of Vijay let CSK enter final defeating Delhi in the 2nd Qualifier,  also he became the only Indian to score two centuries in IPL. He score 113 in 58 balls with 15 fours and 4 sixes.

Comment whose century you like most and why?

Also read :

1 comment :

Leave Your comments