World changes day by day!

Wednesday, October 17, 2012

Sachin Tendulkar will get the Order of Australia


Sachin Tendulkar will become the fourth non-Australian cricketer to receive an Order of Australia honour. The prime minister of Australia, Julia Gillard, who is currently visiting INDIA, announced in Delhi. The Australian PM prasised Tendulkar and said that he would receive the honour from Australian cabinet minister Simon Crean the Minister for Arts, who will going to visit India soon. 

"I'm very pleased we're going to confer on Sachin Tendulkar membership of the Order of Australia, an AM," Gillard told reporters in Delhi. "This is a very special honour, very rarely awarded to someone who is not an Australian citizen or an Australian national. "He is away playing cricket - surprise, surprise - but the award will be conferred on him by minister Crean when [he] visits India. So a very special honour and a very special recognition of such a great batsman."  

Sachin is the cricketer who had played most matches against Australia. So far he has played 106 times including Tests, ODIs and Twenty20 internationals against Aussies. He has toured Australia five times for Test series, from 1991 to 2011, and only the Jack Hobbs has scored more Test runs against the Australians. Other Cricketer got this are - Brian Lara in 2009, Clive Lloyd in 1985, Sir Garfield Sobers in 2003.  After getting of the Honour Tendulkar will became member of the 'Order of Australia' along with the  Brian Lara, Clive Lloyd, Sir Garfield Sobers and 20 other Australian cricketers. The Australian who get this are - Sir Donald Bradman, Allan Border, Steve Waugh, Mark Waugh, Mark Taylor, Adam Gilchrist, Glenn McGrath, Matthew Hayden, Dennis Lillee, Max Walker, Bob Simpson, Keith Miller, Justin Langer, Bill Lawry, Ricky Ponting, Peter Burge, Ron Archer, Alan Davidson, Dean Jones and Belinda Clark.


Leave Your comments